Skip to main content
SmartRecruiters

Task Management

Requires:
  • SmartRecruit

 

SmartRecruiters Task Management is designed to help recruiters and hiring managers prioritize and complete their most important tasks. Users will see a new task dashboard available on the homepage where they can review and action tasks that need to be completed.

Task Dashboard 

There is no additional setup required to start using the new task dashboard. Users will see a new task dashboard available on the SmartRecruiters homepage. 

Permissions

Users assigned the Basic, Standard, Extended, Administrator, or a Custom system role will have access to the new task dashboard and the ability to create manual tasks. Task Dashboards are not available to users with Employee system roles. There is no system role configuration setting for task management in the Early Access release. 

Approvals Widget

Approvals have been centralized on the homepage in a new widget in the right handrail. Both job and offer approvals will be pulled from the system for a specific user into this central place. Users will be able to click on an approval and they will be redirected to the specific job or offer approval page to view details. 

After user take an action on the approval, the approval will automatically be removed from their homepage widget. 

TM-approvals1.png 

Task Actions

From the task dashboard, users can directly action tasks by hovering over the task and clicking on the “Go” button. This will open up the specific page where the user can complete the task. 

Clicking on the task itself will expand the task within the dashboard so users can see additional task details.  

Users can also set or update a task’s due date when they are in the expanded task detail view.

Users can click the flag icon on the task to flag a task as High Priority

Users can click the archive icon to effectively remove the task from their main task dashboard, signaling it is not a task they will be working on. 

Users can manually mark a task as complete. System tasks (see below) are automatically marked as completed when the user completes those tasks. Any user created manual task will have to be manually marked as completed by the user. 

System tasks

Tasks are created by system defined rules or by users manually. A task is considered active when it is added to users’ dashboard. A task is considered inactive when it is completed or archived. Archived and completed tasks do not appear on the dashboard unless a user chooses to filter by those tasks.

In the Early Access release, the system will automatically surface 2 types of tasks: 

  1. Candidates to be reviewed - Tasks are surfaced for users based on candidates who make it to a configured hiring process step where the user is a Hiring Manager on that job. 

  2. Pending interview feedback - Tasks are surfaced when the user has not provided a rating for candidates who need a rating/review where current user was scheduled for an interview and application is in the Interview hiring process stage.

When users action these tasks, the tasks are auto-completed. Users can action a task by clicking on the Go button. This will take users directly to the specific page where the user can perform the task. 

For the Candidates to be reviewed task, users will be taken to the candidate profile page to review the candidate’s profile. For the Pending interview feedback task, users will be taken to the review tab on the candidate’s profile to complete the review and rating. 

Creating a new task

Besides automatically created system tasks, users can also create tasks manually, and assign to themselves or to others. Tasks can be created from any place in the system so users won’t have to leave the page they're working in to create a new task. 

Based on the type of task that the user chooses to create, assignees of the task can click on the “Go” button to be automatically redirected to the specific page where the task can be completed. 

To create a task: 

  1. Click on the [+] icon in top navigation bar.  

  2. Select “Add task.” By default,, the task will be pre-populated with the current user’s own name so the Assignee of the task is the current user. 

  3. Start typing to choose a different user as the task Assignee. 

  4. Choose a task from the dropdown list. Type to filter the list of available tasks. 

    The available task types include:

    • Schedule new interview
    • Create invite to self-schedule
    • Send a message
    • Submit interview feedback
    • Reject candidate
    • Send assessment
    • Create offer
    • Publish job
    • Unpublish job
    • Edit job ad
    • Review candidate
  5. Based on the task selected, users will be prompted to select a candidate or a job. 

  6. Add any additional details about the task in the free text field. 

  7. Select the task due date. Users can choose from some preset options or choose a custom date. 

    Preset due date options include:

    • Today 
    • Tomorrow 
    • 3 days 
    • 1 week 
    • 1 month
  8. If the task is urgent, users can also choose to flag the task as high priority. 

  9. Click “Create” to create the task. Users will receive an alert banner when their task has been successfully created. 

Once a task is created, it will automatically appear on the assignee’s Task Dashboard. Assignees will also receive a notification in their bell notification informing them that a new task has been assigned to them. See below for additional details about Task notifications. 

Users will also, optionally, have the ability to create a task and add a new one at the same time by clicking on "Create & Add Another." This makes it easy for users to create a set of tasks one after another. 

Task Notifications

Users will receive 2 bell notifications related to tasks. 

  • Users will be notified when a new task created by another user has been assigned to them. 

  • Users will be notified when a task is overdue. 

Email notifications are not included in the first iteration of Task Management in the Early Access release. 

Managing tasks 

The Task Dashboard is designed with a high level of flexibility to help users manage and organize their tasks. 

By default, tasks flagged as High Priority are always grouped at the top of the task dashboard. Tasks are then further sorted by Due date, and finally by the task Creation Date from newest to oldest. Users have an option to change the sort of their tasks by: 

  • New to Old (Task creation date) 

  • Old to New (Task creation date)

  • Due date (Sooner to later) 

Users can filter their Task Dashboard based on Task Type, Priority and Status. Any filter that is applied will be saved for that user until the filters are reset or user updates their filter selections. 

Filtering by Task Type helps users to understand the amount of tasks they have to take care of in different areas from managing candidates, scheduling interviews, to publishing jobs. Users can filter on all available Task Types. 

The Priority filter helps users understand what are the most important tasks to tackle. Users can filter based on: 

  • High Priority 

  • Due today 

  • Due in 7 days 

  • Overdue

Filtering by Status allows users to see Archived and Completed tasks. Archived and Completed tasks can not be returned to active status. Users will have to create new tasks instead. 

Tasks are presented in sets of 10 on the task dashboard. Use the next and previous buttons to navigate to the previous or next sets of tasks. 

Use the double arrow to return to the very first page of the task dashboard with the first set of 10 tasks per the user’s filter and sort selections. 

FAQ

Q: Will tasks that are created manually be users be auto-completed?

  • When users action a task that is created by another user, the task will not be automatically completed. Users will have to mark these tasks as completed manually. 

Q: Will email notifications about tasks be made available?

  • Notifications about new assigned tasks and tasks that are due will be limited to the bell notification in the first release. We will evaluate adding email notifications. 

Q: If a user creates a task manually and there is a duplicate task that exists, will the system de-duplicate tasks?

  • When users create an ad-hoc task that may be a duplicate of a system generated task, the system does not automatically de-duplicate tasks.