Skip to main content
SmartRecruiters

Delayed Rejections

Plans:
  • Personal
  • Team
  • Corporate
Editions:
  • SmartStart
  • Corporate
  • Global

Delayed Rejections allow members of the hiring team who can reject a candidate to reject a candidate today, and but notify the candidate immediately or at a later date. That way, rejected candidates leave the hiring process with respect for your company and the belief that your team gave their application the right amount of consideration. 

DelayedRejection.png

Scheduling

Though the rejection will take effect immediately in SmartRecruiters, Delayed Rejections let you delay notification to the candidate for:

  • 2 business days,
  • 5 business days, or
  • until a custom date and time.

CustomDateTime_DelayedR.png

 

 

Candidate experience

From the candidates' perspective, the rejection actually happens on this date -- when SmartRecruiters sends the delayed message, then updates the status of their application in their Candidate Portal. Those who are rejected immediately, without a delayed message, will see the update immediately.

The hiring team will be able to see which candidates on a job were rejected, and whether there's a pending rejection message. PendingRejection.png

Candidates with pending messages are clearly marked on the on the People page.PendingRejection_List.png

Scheduling a rejection will also add the pending message to the Message tab of the candidate's profile:

PEndingMessageBody.png

Canceling

To cancel the scheduled message, just visit the candidate's profile and click Cancel in the Pending Message  box.PendingRejection.pngCancelPending.png

Cancel the scheduled message does not change the candidate's status. They'll remain in Rejected status.    

You can also reassign the candidate to the same or another job. SmartRecruiters will cancel the rejection and the scheduled message.

Compliance

If the delay period for pending Delayed Rejection exceeds the data retention period for an applicable Global Compliance ruleset, SmartRecruiter will not delete the candidate's data until after sending the rejection email and the Keep your profile? that asks if the candidate would like to keep their information on file.

This override exists because your company will need the candidate's information in order to send the rejection email.