Hiring is a collaborative process, and SmartRecruiters' Notes is the easiest way to share comments on candidates with your hiring team or entire company.
Leave a note
You can leave notes in two places:
- On Hireloop, the front page of SmartRecruiters:On Notes tab of the candidate's profile:
Types of notes
SmartRecruiters has four types of notes, each with different purposes and privacy settings.
To share notes privately with specific teammates, @-mention them by name and choose Direct message. Direct messages are visible to you and the people you @-mention. No one else, not even Admins, can see Direct messages.
Use a direct message for sensitive conversations, such as discussing salary or compensation, offer negotiations, etc.
Notes to everyone
Notes with the Everyone setting will be visible to any user in your SmartRecruiters account. Don't worry! SmartRecruiters will not send email notifications about an Everyone post to everyone in your company.
Choose Everyone to let your entire team know about an exciting new hire, or to share tips, instructions, or guidelines with the rest of the company. Only Admins can create this kind of note.
Note to self
To post a note for yourself, make sure the note does not contain any @-mentions, and choose Note to Self. Notes to self are visible to your and Admins of your SmartRecruiters account (to prevent data loss if the note's author is on vacation, no longer at the company, or otherwise unavailable.
Write a Note to self to record quick notes before cleaning them up and sharing with the team.
To post a note for the whole hiring team to see, #-tag at least one candidate in the note and choose Open Note. Open Notes are visible to anyone with access to the candidate(s) tagged will be able to see your note. If someone new joins your team in the future, those new members will still be able to see Open Notes.
Write an Open note to share a post openly with your entire team.
You can read the notes that have been shared with you in two places:
- All notes shared with you appear in Hireloop, the front page of SmartRecruiters.
- Notes that specifically mention a candidate will also show up on the Notes tab of the candidate's profile.
Users can have access to a candidate for a few reasons:
- They have an Admin or Extended system role. Either role has access to all jobs and candidates.
- They were added to a job (this includes being part of an access group), and the candidate applied to that job. This user now has access to the candidate profile (contact and CV info) and any information specific to the application for that job.
It's also possible to give access to a candidate by sharing via notes. When someone with access to a candidate @mentions another user in a note, and #-tags the candidate in that note, the second user has now access to that candidate.
Once a candidate is shared with a user, that access can't be revoked by deleting the note.