As an Administrator, you can indicate which hiring steps are required with the “Required step” toggle that appears after selecting the desired step. Each time a recruiter tries to move a candidate to a different step, they will see which required steps indicated with an asterisk (*) at the end of the step name, and subsequent steps disabled.
To turn on the notifications for each step:
Open the Settings / Admin page and click Hiring Process.
If you have multiple hiring processes, scroll and find the one you're looking for. Otherwise, just look at the Default hiring process.
- Find and click on the the hiring step which you would like to mark as required.
- From the list, select the "Required Step" toggle to switch between on/off.
After refreshing the page users will be able to see an asterisk (*) at the front of the step name.
What users will see:
Moving Candidates through Hiring Steps
There are multiple places in the system where users can move candidates to specific stages. In all these drop-downs, you will now see:
- All required steps also having an asterisk (*) next to the step name
- Disabled steps in grey
Disabled steps are defined as steps that are after the upcoming required step starting from the current status of the candidate. For example, if hiring steps 3 and 7 are marked as required and the candidate currently is in step 4, users will be able to move the candidate between steps 1 and 7. Steps 8 and beyond will be disabled.
In the case of moving multiple candidates, it takes the more conservative approach of the earliest step across all selected candidates. Using the same example above, if the candidates you are moving together are in steps 2 and 4, the dropdown will only show steps 1 to 3 as active because of the candidate in step 2.
Note: If users move candidates backward past a required step in a hiring process, they will still need to ensure they hit the required step again before they can proceed further. Meaning required steps are always required based on which step the candidate is, it will not be “unlocked” after it has been reached once.
These places include (screenshots below):
- Moving Candidates in both the candidate and job pages
- Workflow setup in the “Move Forward” card
- Scheduling interviews
Since sending an offer and hiring candidates automatically move them forward to Offer and Hired step, there are also blockers implemented to warn users if there are required steps between the step that the candidate currently is in and the Offer and Hired stage.
These warnings will also show up in both the Offer and Hiring tab on the candidate page, and also if you try to hire candidates from the People tab on the job page.
Things to Note
1. Required steps will only be checked if candidate changes take place on the desktop.
Mobile and integrations related candidate moves will not be checked (including the Docusign integration). Admin users will need to make sure that these integrations do not skip any required steps at the point of implementation.
2. If a hiring step is deleted from the hiring process, the “current state” of the candidate will be calculated as the first step of the existing stage of the new hiring process applied.
3. Marking a required step after a workflow is set up
If you have a “Move Forward” card in a workflow setup before indicating all required steps in the hiring process, there will be no checks to ensure that existing “Move Forward” cards are not skipping the newly marked required step.
For example, if there is a move forward workflow setup to move candidates from step 3 to 5. Then later, a user then flags step 4 as required, the workflow setup will not change and will still move candidates from step 3 to 5. Users will need to remember to check and update the move forward steps setup accordingly.