Skip to main content
SmartRecruiters

Deleting candidate data

Plans:
  • Personal
  • Team
  • Corporate
Plans:
  • Personal
  • Corporate
  • Enterprise
  • Global

SmartRecruiters will delete personally identifying candidate data in two situations:

Scheduling

When a candidate has no other active applications to your jobs, SmartRecruiters schedules the candidate’s profile for deletion at the end of the retention period. For candidates who’ve applied to multiple jobs with different retention periods, SmartRecruiters will observe the longest retention period.

Canceling

Once the deletion event is scheduled, SmartRecruiters will cancel the event during the retention period if:

  • The candidate applies to a new job. 
  • Someone reassigns the candidate to a new job.
  • Someone refers the candidate to a job.

Changing

SmartRecruiters will change (but not cancel) the deletion date when:

  • Someone changes the location of a job for which the candidate has an application, and the new location’s retention policy is different.
  • Someone changes the retention policy for one or more of the candidate’s applications.

In the event of a change in policy, SmartRecruiters will recalculate the scheduled deletion date to reflect the least restrictive policy thereby keeping the candidate profile until hiring teams at the company no longer need access to the candidate’s profile for recruiting purposes.

Extending

Once the period ends (or if you’ve chosen Upon Rejection for the period), we email the candidate ask if they’d like to delete the application’s data, and wait 7 days for their response:

  • If the candidate responds in 7 days and chooses Keep for Now, we retain the application data for 2 more years and record the request on the Notes tab of their application.
  • If the candidate responds in 7 days and chooses Delete my profile, or doesn’t respond in 7 days, we delete their application information.

Deleted data

When it’s time to delete a candidate’s information, SmartRecruiters will effectively anonymize their profile by deleting any personally identifying information (PII) , but retain a record that a candidate existed in order to serve proper analytics. You’ll be able to see that a candidate applied, but you won’t be able to see their profile.  See the following sections for a specific list of information that we’ll delete. 

Candidate Data 

We’ll delete the following information from our databases:

  • Avatar
  • First and last name
  • Social Links
  • Email
  • Phone number
  • Address
  • Attachments
  • Work history
  • Education history
  • Pending or past interviews

No one will be able to search for the candidate or filter them from results. 

Candidate Portal

We’ll delete your company’s page in the Candidate Portal when deleting the candidate’s application. All information stored in our Candidate Portal database will be deleted. 

My Referrals

We’ll remove deleted candidates from the My Referrals portal. 

Mobile Apps

We’ll remove deleted candidates from the Hiring and Field Recruiting apps. 

Assessments and Offers

We will anonymize any assessments and offers when deleting a candidate. The assessment results and offers will persist, but without any of the following PII:

  • Avatar
  • First and last name
  • Social Links
  • Email
  • Phone number
  • Address
  • Attachments
  • Work history
  • Education history

LinkedIn

We’ll remove deleted candidates from the databases used by LinkedIn Recruiter and LinkedIn Referrals if you have an active integration for either. Of course, we can’t delete their LinkedIn profiles.

Analytics

Rather than simply deleting a candidate, we’ll remove PII from the candidate’s record to anonymize and keep it for the following Analytics tools and reports: Sourcing, Hiring Plan, Candidate Pipeline tools

  • EEO report
  • Applicant Flow report
  • Search history report
  • Analytics API